Alright, take two

Clear out the tumbleweeds and the cobwebs because I’m back!!

…You didn’t notice I was gone? Oh. Well. Whatever, that’s cool.

If it wasn’t apparent to you, I let this blog sit and wither to almost nothing for quite some time. Not that I was on a regular schedule to begin with, but there was nothing going on here. Zip. Nada.

I got into this bit of an impromptu hiatus because–you guessed it–that treacherous tramp known as LIFE. A couple weeks after my last blog post, I moved from a one bedroom apartment that I lived in by myself into a house… with five other people… plus significant others… and a cat. Let’s just say it has been quite the adjustment, and I still haven’t finished adjusting yet. For starters, I wasn’t able to properly grocery shop for over a month, so there’s no way I can post recipes when I have nothing to cook with. You know how much I love food, can you understand how much torture I went through for over a month?!? It was bad y’all.

Then came two concerts: Matt Nathanson & Devin DeGraw with special guest Andrew McMahon one weekend, Beyonce and Jay Z the next. Both were incredible, and both ate up quite a bit of my time.

The biggest impediment, though, has been the condition of my skin. As I know I’ve mentioned before, I’m training for a half-marathon that occurs in *shudders* less than two weeks. Getting closer to the big event = longer runs = more exposure to sunshine and humidity = SWEAT BABY SWEAT. All the grime that comes with training clogged my pores something terrible it seems, and I’ve been trying to tweak my skin regimen at the same time. The bottom line is my skin has been terrible, probably the worst it has been in a long time, and I’ve shed more than a few tears about it. I don’t have a beautiful canvas to put makeup on at the moment, which kills the other half of what this blog is dedicated to. I’m fighting back, though, and I will right these wrongs. More on that later.

Bottom line, it was a serious struggle to contribute. I had no food, my makeup was disorganized, my face was/is a face, and my body has just been falling apart with all the stress and the training. It has been hard but I’m far from ready to give up. It’ll still take me a few weeks but I will revive this blog. We’ve got a beautiful thing going here. It’ll take another couple of weeks before my life is finally settled down again and I can really dive in but I’ll wade through the shallow end for a while until then. I’ve got a couple things in the works for reviews, and hopefully some more food on the way. I may live with more people, but at least now I have a bigger kitchen to work with. Silver linings, people.

You’ve stuck with me thus far, all I ask is that you stick with me just a little longer.

Stay well, stay beautiful, and let’s do this thing!

Leave a Reply

